The Greater Peoria Sports Hall of Fame is scheduled to make up for lost time this fall.
The latest induction ceremony is set for Sunday, Sept. 12, at the Peoria Civic Center. The March 2020 event was canceled because of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Here’s what you need to know about the group’s 39th induction ceremony:
Social hour begins at 1 p.m. on Sept. 12, followed by dinner at 2 p.m. and the induction ceremony. Tickets are required to attend and seating will be assigned. They are $40 and can be ordered by calling (309) 691-3553 or emailing Susie Stockman at No tickets will be available at the door. The event will follow Civic Center health protocols; if it cannot be held in person, it will be done virtually.
The Class of 2021 includes former Bradley basketball star and longtime pro Anthony Parker and former all-time city scorer and Woodruff graduate Mike Robinson Sr. 
The basketball duo will be inducted alongside the Class of 2020, originally announced in January 2020: longtime swim coach Corky King, baseball player Bob Koeppel, basketball coach Norm Reiser and runner John Weigel.
Read this: As IHSA sports begin, a digital subscription gives you full access to the best stories
Jerry Robertson is the winner of the Neve Harms Award for 2020. There was no Neve Harms winner for 2021.
No additional teams will be inducted in 2021, but three teams — picked to be inducted in 2020 — will be recognized: the 2002-03 Illinois Central College women’s basketball team; the 1993-94 Eureka boys basketball team; and the 1994 Morton baseball team, which went 28-7 and finished second in the Class AA state finals.
Also honored at the event will be the top Tri-County players and athletes for both 2019 and 2020.
The 2020 Tri-County winners are Indiana swimmer Anna Peplowski of Metamora (female athlete), former Illinois lineman and current NFL rookie Kendrick Green of Peoria High (male athlete), Bradley women’s basketball coach Andrea Gorski (female coach) and Notre Dame boys basketball coach Tom Lacher (male coach).
The 2019 winners were Hanna Hicks of Illini Bluffs (female athlete), Adam Snedden of Princeville (male athlete), Nancy Meyer of Illini Bluffs (female coach) and Nick Miller of Washington (male coach). 
News: Illinois school mask mandate 2021 includes IHSA indoor sports
Wes Huett is Journal Star sports editor. Email him at Follow him on Twitter @WesHuett.


Por redditxxx